
 

2022 Southern California
Garment Worker Survey

32%
of contractors continued to pay piece rates after the California law prohibiting this practice took effect

>50%
of contractors paid workers off the books and falsified or did not provide records

$1.58 
lowest hourly wage found

10% 
of California minimum wage

22% 
of federal minimum wage

In fiscal year 2022, the Wage and Hour Division (WHD) conducted compliance investigations at 50 randomly 
selected sewing garment contractors in the Southern California area. 

80%
of contractors were found in violation of one or more FLSA provisions

$892K 
back wages and liquidated damages recovered

$3000 
average recovered per worker

42% 
of workers due back wages

36% falsified time and pay records 28% kept no time and pay records

64%
of contractors did not keep accurate time and pay records 



$10.4M 
back wages and liquidated damages recovered for more than 6000 workers nationwide

WHD Garment Industry
Investigations 2017-22 

$1.2M recovered outside Southern California

$9.2M recovered by WHDʼs Southern California offices


